The Memory Thief

The Past Is a Maze. She Is the Key.
x-large
Author(s): Lauren Mansy
Original Publish Date: Oct 01, 2019
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (6.52 hours)
Product Number: Z100149232
Released: Oct 01, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780310768562
Narrator/s: Lora Brown
Publisher: Zondervan
Please log in to view pricing

Description

In the realms of The Memory Thief, memories are currency that can be traded for goods, services, skills, and experiences. A group of people—the Gifted—can steal and redistribute memories. Etta is secretly one of them, but she hasn't used her Gifted abilities since she left the rebel Shadows following her mother's accident two years ago. But when her mother is again in danger, Etta has no choice but to return to the underground group in order to complete her greatest heist and save her mother's life. Etta faces startling attacks, unexpected romance, and above all, her own past as she uncovers a conspiracy that challenges everything she knew about herself and the world around her. In a place where nothing is what it seems, can Etta ever become more than a memory thief? "Readers, like Etta and her fellow citizens, will be challenged to contemplate the nature of truth A welcome addition to the YA fantasy canon, The Memory Thief is a suspenseful page-turner, delightfully chock full of unexpected twists and turns." – Shelf Awareness The Memory Thief: -Is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Victoria Aveyard -Brings readers on an unforgettable journey during which Etta must learn—often the hard way—just what it will take to save her city and her mother -Is a clean, coming of age YA fantasy, with unexpected romance by up-and-coming author Lauren Mansy

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Lauren Mansy
Narrator(s): Lora Brown
Product Number DD47429
Released: Oct 01, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781974979356
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Lauren Mansy
Product Number EB00756849
Released: Oct 01, 2019
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Blink
ISBN: #9780310767572

Professional reviews

"Narrator Lora Brown reads with little vocal modulation and creates scant difference in characters. In a world in which memories are a cunningly traded commodity and some citizens are "gifted" with an ability to retrieve and transfer them, 17-year-old Etta is an apparent enemy of Madame, the realm's brutal leader. Because power is derived from the use and abuse of memories, flashbacks are frequent and tedious. Brown forces listeners to maintain close attention to glean the clues that explain why Etta is disguised as an "ungifted" citizen and why her mother languishes in an asylum. To save her mother's life, Etta battles with ghosts, minders, shadows, hunters--and ultimately Madame. However, scenes that are fraught with peril, or budding romance, often fall flat due to a lackluster delivery. L.T. © AudioFile 2020, Portland, Maine"