The Silence Between Us

I See You. Now Hear Me.
x-large
Author(s): Alison Gervais
Awards:2020-Honor-Schneider Family Book Award
Original Publish Date: Aug 13, 2019
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (6.62 hours)
Product Number: Z100152062
Released: Aug 13, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780310768692
Narrator/s: Chloe Dolandis
Publisher: Zondervan
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"The Silence Between Us is eminently un-put-down-able." (NPR) Schneider Family Book Award, Best Teen Honor Book 2020 "This is a great YA contemporary (clean) romance that follows Maya as she navigates a new school and plans for her future. The addition of representation by a Deaf character was really beautifully done. Highly recommend for people looking for a sweet, engaging, and educational romantic read." (YA and Kids Book Central) #OwnVoices YA novel features Deaf / Hard of Hearing Community "It's time we see more Deaf characters in books. It's time we see more books celebrating sign language and Deaf culture," said author Alison Gervais. Deaf teen Maya moves across the country and must attend a hearing school for the first time. As if that wasn't hard enough, she also has to adjust to the hearing culture, which she finds frustrating—and also surprising when some classmates, including Beau Watson, take time to learn ASL. As Maya looks past graduation and focuses on her future dreams, nothing, not even an unexpected romance, will not derail her pursuits. But when people in her life—Deaf and hearing alike—ask her to question parts of her Deaf identity, Maya stands proudly, never giving in to the idea that her Deafness is a disadvantage. The Silence Between Us: -Features a Deaf protagonist and an #OwnVoices perspective on Deaf and Hard of Hearing culture -Is a clean YA romance by Wattpad sensation Alison Gervais -Is perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and CeCe Bell

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Alison Gervais
Narrator(s): Chloe Dolandis
Product Number DD45540
Released: Aug 26, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781974962914
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Alison Gervais
Product Number EB00743833
Released: Aug 13, 2019
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Blink
ISBN: #9780310766308

Professional reviews

"Narrator Chloe Dolandis gracefully meets the challenge of delivering a story that unfolds in oral English, American Sign Language, and finger spelling. At 17, Maya has been profoundly deaf for only four years, so her observations and thoughts as this gentle teen romance develops from her viewpoint are in standard English. Mainstreamed for her last year of high school, Maya's new acquaintances include a few who try to learn ASL and others whom she recognizes as futilely shouting. In addition to ASL and finger spelling, hard of hearing author Alison Gervais also weaves in the dynamics of lip reading, making this satisfying story one that also delivers a full and empathetic introduction to variant communication methods. F.M.R.G. © AudioFile 2019, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter