The Danger within Us

America's Untested, Unregulated Medical Device Industry and One Man's Battle to Survive It
x-large
Author(s): Jeanne Lenzer
Original Publish Date: Dec 12, 2017
Product Number: EB00702279
Released: Dec 12, 2017
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780316269483
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Did you know... Medical interventions have become the third leading cause of death in America. An estimated 10 percent of Americans are implanted with medical devices -- like pacemakers, artificial hips, cardiac stents, etc. The overwhelming majority of high-risk implanted devices have never undergone a single clinical trial. In The Danger Within Us, award-winning journalist Jeanne Lenzer brings these horrifying statistics to life through the story of one working class man who, after his "cure" nearly kills him, ends up in a battle for justice against the medical establishment. His crusade leads Lenzer on a journey through the dark underbelly of the medical device industry, a fascinating and disturbing world that hasn't been written about before. What Lenzer exposes will shock readers: rampant corruption, elaborate cover-ups, shameless profiteering, and astonishing lack of oversight, all of which leads to dangerous devices (from artificial hips to pacemakers) going to market and into our bodies. In the vein of America's Bitter Pill and A Civil Action, The Danger Within Us is a stirring call for reform and a must-read for anyone who cares about the future of American healthcare. "Before you get anything implanted in your body, read this book."-Shannon Brownlee, author of Overtreated

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Jeanne Lenzer
Narrator(s): Jeanne Lenzer
Product Number Z100159629
Released: Jan 09, 2020
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Hachette Audio
ISBN: #9781549169427

Sign up for our email newsletter