Truth

How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality
Product Number: EB00707406
Released: Mar 06, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780316412360
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"In a time when truth is under assault, Hector Macdonald is here to defend it. He offers clear-eyed, compelling guidelines for becoming a more accurate consumer and producer of information."-Adam Grant, author of Give and Take, Originals, and Option B with Sheryl Sandberg For fans of Nudge, Sway, and The Art of Thinking Clearly, a fascinating dive into the many ways in which "competing truths" shape our opinions, behaviors, and beliefs. True or false? It's rarely that simple. There is more than one truth about most things. The Internet disseminates knowledge but it also spreads hatred. Eating meat is nutritious but it's also damaging to the environment. When we communicate we naturally select the truths that are most helpful to our agenda. We can select truths constructively to inspire organizations, encourage children, and drive progressive change. Or we can select truths that give a false impression of reality, misleading people without actually lying. Others can do the same, motivating or deceiving us with the truth. Truths are neutral but highly versatile tools that we can use for good or ill. In Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality, Hector Macdonald explores how truth is used and abused in politics, business, the media and everyday life. He shows how a clearer understanding of truth's many faces renders us better able to navigate our world and more influential within it. Combining great storytelling with practical takeaways and a litany of fascinating, funny, and insightful case studies, Truth is a sobering and engaging read about how profoundly our mindsets and actions are influenced by the truths that those around us choose to tell.

x-large
Author(s): Hector MacDonald
Original Publish Date: Mar 06, 2018

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Hector MacDonald
Narrator(s): Robert Fass
Product Number Z100130243
Released: Mar 06, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Hachette Book Group
ISBN: #9781549197482

Sign up for our email newsletter