Queen of the Conquered

x-large
Author(s): Kacen Callender
Series: Islands of Blood and Storm Series No: 1
Original Publish Date: Nov 12, 2019
Product Number: EB00755936
Released: Nov 12, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780316454926
Publisher: Orbit
Please log in to view pricing

Description

An ambitious and unflinching tale of colonialism, conquest, and revenge, Queen of the Conquered starts a fantasy series perfect for readers of S. A. Chakraborty, Ken Liu, and Tasha Suri.*Named one of TIME's Top 100 Fantasy Book Of All Time* World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, winnerOn the islands of Hans Lollik, Sigourney Rose was the only survivor when her family was massacred by the colonizers. When the childless king of the islands declares he will choose his successor from amongst eligible noble families, Sigourney is ready to exact her revenge.But someone is killing off the ruling families to clear a path to the throne. And as the bodies pile up and all eyes regard her with suspicion, Sigourney must find allies among her prey and the murderer among her peers... lest she become the next victim. Praise for Queen of the Conquered: "A storm of a novel as epic as Alexandre Dumas's The Count of Monte Cristo." —Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made Wild"The book's absorbing setting, captivating lead, and relevant themes of race and class complement each other with alternating delicacy and savagery."—NPR Books"Callender's first adult novel draws race relations, conquest, magic, and politics into an imaginative, layered story that will keep readers twisting until the end." —Library Journal

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Kacen Callender
Narrator(s): Krystel Roche
Series:
Product Number Z100156914
Released: Nov 12, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Hachette Audio
ISBN: #9781549155543