The Boleyn Deceit

A Novel
Product Number: EB00151854
Released: Dec 27, 2013
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780345534125
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime's The Tudors, The Boleyn Deceit is the captivating new novel set in the imagined Tudor court of King Henry IX, son of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn, who must navigate a terrain rife with palace intrigue, impending war, and unbridled passions. The regency period is over and William Tudor, now King Henry IX, sits alone on the throne. But England must still contend with those who doubt his legitimacy, both in faraway lands and within his own family. To diffuse tensions and appease the Catholics, William is betrothed to a young princess from France, but still he has eyes for only his childhood friend Minuette, and court tongues are wagging. Even more scandalous-and dangerous, if discovered-is that Minuette's heart and soul belong to Dominic, William's best friend and trusted advisor. Minuette must walk a delicate balance between her two suitors, unable to confide in anyone, not even her friend Elizabeth, William's sister, who must contend with her own cleaved heart. In this irresistible tale, the secrets that everyone keeps are enough to change the course of an empire. Includes a preview of Laura Andersen's The Boleyn Reckoning Praise for The Boleyn Deceit "Detailed and quick-paced, [The Boleyn Deceit] will have series fans devouring it and emerging eager for the last book. An excellent recommendation for Phillippa Gregory fans."-Booklist (starred review) "This entertaining work of alternative history offers plenty to savor for both fans of historical romance and those whose passion is political intrigue...? Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, Andersen's novel admirably takes artistic license with history while remaining true to many aspects of real-world history...? [Foreshadows] a mesmerizing conclusion to the trilogy."-Publishers Weekly "An intriguing re-imagining of Tudor England and the treacheries of court life."-Kirkus Reviews Praise for Laura Andersen's The Boleyn King "A sumptuous, vividly imagined novel of a Boleyn king's fateful rise to power amid the treacherous glamour of the Tudor court."-C. W. Gortner, author of The Queen's Vow "Fans of both Stephenie Meyer and Philippa Gregory will find much to love in this evocative and well-written debut."-Francine Mathews, author of Jack 1939 Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more. From the Trade Paperback edition.

x-large
Author(s): Laura Andersen
Series: Boleyn Series No: 2
Original Publish Date: Nov 05, 2013

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Laura Andersen
Narrator(s): Simon Vance
Series:
Product Number BN7022
Released: Dec 02, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
ISBN: #9781491549445

Sign up for our email newsletter