The Last Clinic

x-large
Author(s): Gary Gusick
Series: Darla Cavannah Series No: 1
Original Publish Date: Nov 18, 2013
Product Number: EB00149182
Released: Dec 27, 2013
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780345548887
Publisher: Alibi
Please log in to view pricing

Description

In a fast-paced, suspenseful debut novel for fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner, detective Darla Cavannah goes Deep South in pursuit of a merciless killer. Outside the local women's health clinic, the Reverend Jimmy Aldridge waving his protest sign is a familiar sight. But that changes early one morning when someone shoots the beloved Reverend Jimmy dead. Sheriff Shelby Mitchell knows the preacher's murder will shock the good people of Jackson-and the pressure to find the killer is immediate and intense, which is why Shelby calls in detective Darla Cavannah. When police detective Darla moved from Philadelphia to Jackson with her husband-hometown football hero Hugh "the Glue" Cavannah-she never imagined the culture shock that awaited. Then after Hugh dies in a car crash, Darla enters a self-imposed exile in her Mississippi home, taking a leave of absence from the sheriff's department. Now she's called back to duty-or coerced, more like it, with Shelby slathering on his good-ole-boy charm nice and thick, like on a helping of barbecue. Reluctantly partnered with a mulish Elvis impersonator, Darla keeps a cool head even as the community demands an arrest. The court of public opinion has already convicted the clinic's doctor, Stephen Nicoletti, but Darla is just as sure he's not guilty-even as she fights her growing attraction to him. From the genteel suburbs to a raunchy strip club, Darla follows a trail of dirty money and nasty secrets-until the day of judgment comes, and she faces down an ungodly assassin.

Sign up for our email newsletter