Stubborn Archivist

Product Number: EB00729882
Released: Jul 16, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780358007067
Publisher: Mariner Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"I read Stubborn Archivist in a ravenous gulp. It's stunning: so articulate about what it means to live between two languages and countries, tenderly unraveling the knots of unbelonging."-Olivia Laing, author of TheLonely City and Crudo For fans of Chemistry and Conversations with Friends: A mesmerizing and witty debut novel about a young woman growing up between two disparate cultures, and the singular identity she finds along the wayBut where are you really from? When your mother considers another country home, it's hard to know where you belong. When the people you live among can't pronounce your name, it's hard to know exactly who you are. And when your body no longer feels like your own, it's hard to understand your place in the world. In Stubborn Archivist, a young British Brazilian woman from South London navigates growing up between two cultures and into a fuller understanding of her body, relying on signposts such as history, family conversation, and the eyes of the women who have shaped her-her mother, grandmother, and aunt. Our stubborn archivist takes us through first love and loss, losing and finding home, trauma and healing, and various awakenings of sexuality and identity. Shot through the novel are the narrator's trips to Brazil, sometimes alone, often with family, where she accesses a different side of herself-one, she begins to realize, that is as much of who she is as anything else. A hypnotic and bold debut, Stubborn Archivist is as singular as its narrator; a novel you won't soon forget.

x-large
Original Publish Date: Jul 16, 2019

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Product Number DD45756
Released: Jul 16, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Highbridge Company
ISBN: #9781684573004
eAudio
x-large
Narrator(s): Carolina Santos Read
Product Number Z100150251
Released: Jul 16, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Highbridge Company
ISBN: #9781684573011

Sign up for our email newsletter