Miracle Creek

A Novel
Product Number: EB00727093
Released: Apr 16, 2019
Business Term: 52 Circ / 730 Day
ISBN: #9780374717988
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our families-and our deepest secrets My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn't even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first... In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine-a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic "dives" with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos' small community. Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night-trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges-as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice. Angie Kim's Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author's own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life "submarine" patient. Both a compelling page-turner and an excavation of identity and the desire for connection, Miracle Creek is a brilliant, empathetic debut from an exciting new voice.

x-large
Author(s): Angie Kim
Original Publish Date: Apr 16, 2019

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Angie Kim
Narrator(s): Jennifer Lim
Product Number DD43072
Released: Apr 16, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
ISBN: #9781250319500
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Angie Kim
Narrator(s): Jennifer Lim
Product Number Z100141694
Released: Apr 16, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
ISBN: #9781250319487

Sign up for our email newsletter