The Undying

Pain, vulnerability, mortality, medicine, art, time, dreams, data, exhaustion, cancer, and care
Product Number: EB00752552
Released: Sep 17, 2019
Business Term: 52 Circ / 730 Day
ISBN: #9780374719487
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Award-winning poet and essayist Anne Boyer delivers a one-of-a-kind meditation on illness in the age of data-sharing her true story of coping with cancer, both the illness and the industry, in The Undying. A week after her forty-first birthday, the acclaimed poet Anne Boyer was diagnosed with highly aggressive triple-negative breast cancer. For a single mother living paycheck to paycheck who had always been the caregiver rather than the one needing care, the catastrophic illness was both a crisis and an initiation into new ideas about mortality and the gendered politics of illness. A twenty-first-century Illness as Metaphor, as well as a harrowing memoir of survival, The Undying explores the experience of illness as mediated by digital screens, weaving in ancient Roman dream diarists, cancer hoaxers and fetishists, cancer vloggers, corporate lies, John Donne, pro-pain "dolorists," the ecological costs of chemotherapy, and the many little murders of capitalism. It excoriates the pharmaceutical industry and the bland hypocrisies of "pink ribbon culture" while also diving into the long literary line of women writing about their own illnesses and ongoing deaths: Audre Lorde, Kathy Acker, Susan Sontag, and others. A genre-bending memoir in the tradition of The Argonauts, The Undying will break your heart, make you angry enough to spit, and show you contemporary America as a thing both desperately ill and occasionally, perversely glorious. Includes black-and-white illustrations

x-large
Author(s): Anne Boyer
Original Publish Date: Sep 17, 2019

You can find this title in the following lists:

Sign up for our email newsletter