Plundered Hearts

New and Selected Poems
Product Number: EB00161574
Released: Mar 25, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780385351522
Publisher: Knopf
Please log in to view pricing

Description

At last, a definitive selection of the elegant work by a poet at the forefront of American poetry for more than three decades. With his first several books, J. D. McClatchy established himself as a poet of urbanity, intellect, and prismatic emotion, in the tradition of James Merrill, W. H. Auden, and Elizabeth Bishop--one who balances an exploration of the underworld of desire with a mastery of poetic form, and whose artistry reveals the riches and ruins of our "plundered hearts." Now, opening with exquisite new poems--including the stunning "My Hand Collection," a catalogue of art objects that steals up on the complexity of human touch, and a witty and profound poem entitled "My Robotic Prostatectomy"--this selection is a glorious full tour of McClatchy's career. It includes excerpts from the powerful book-length sequence Ten Commandments (1998) and his more recent works Hazmat (2002) and Mercury Dressing (2009)-books that explored the body's melodrama, as well as the heart's treacheries, grievances, and boundless capacities. All of his poems present a sumptuous weave of impassioned thought and clear-sighted feeling. He has been rightly hailed as a poet of "ferocious alertness," one who elicits (says The New Leader) "the kind of wonder and joy we experience when the curtain comes down on a dazzling performance." From the Hardcover edition.

x-large
Author(s): J.D. Mcclatchy
Original Publish Date: Mar 25, 2014

Sign up for our email newsletter