Running Out of Night

x-large
Author(s): Sharon Lovejoy
Original Publish Date: Nov 11, 2014
Product Number: EB00326422
Released: Nov 11, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780385378468
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A Children's Book Review Seven Middle Grade Books for African American History Month Pick Fans of Elijah of Buxton, Trouble Don't Last, and Stealing Freedom will be drawn to this tale of the incredible journey of an abused twelve-year-old white girl and an escaped slave girl who run away together and form a bond of friendship while seeking freedom. Every day is a misery for a nameless, motherless Southern girl who is treated cruelly by her pa and brothers. Her life changes forever when a runaway slave named Zenobia turns to her for help and shelter. Longing for her own freedom, the girl decides to run away, and she and Zenobia set off on a harrowing journey. Along the way, Zenobia names the girl Lark, after the bird, for her ability to mimic its song. Running by night, hiding by day, the girls are pursued by Lark's pa and brothers and by ruthless slave catchers. Brightwell, another runaway slave, joins them, and the three follow secret signs to a stop on the Underground Railroad. When the hideout is raided and Zenobia and Brightwell are captured, Lark sets out alone to rescue her friends. A CBC Notable Social Studies Trade Book of the Year An International Reading Association Best Chapter Book of the Year A Vermont Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children's Book Award Master List Selection A Great Stone Face Book Award Nominee A New Mexico's Land of Enchantment Book Award Selection A Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Awards Selection "Lush, detailed, total-immersion storytelling."-Kirkus Reviews "Distinguished by lively descriptions and dialogue."-Publisher's Weekly "A gripping historical novel...?bheart-stopping, heart-racing and eventually heart-easing.-Library Voice "Powerful debut novel."-International Reading Association "An essential read for those interested in American history."-San Louis Obispo Tribune "A gritty, engrossing tale.-Slo Coast Journal

Sign up for our email newsletter