Broken Glass

Mies van der Rohe, Edith Farnsworth, and the Fight Over a Modernist Masterpiece
Product Number: EB00761627
Released: Mar 17, 2020
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780399592720
Publisher: Random House
Please log in to view pricing


The true story of the intimate relationship that gave birth to the Farnsworth House, a masterpiece of twentieth-century architecture-and disintegrated into a bitter feud over love, money, gender, and the very nature of art. In 1945, Edith Farnsworth asked the German architect Mies van der Rohe, already renowned for his avant-garde buildings, to design a weekend home for her outside of Chicago. Edith was a woman ahead of her time-unmarried, she was a distinguished medical researcher, as well as an accomplished violinist, translator, and poet. The two quickly began spending weekends together, sharing interests in transcendental philosophy, Catholic mysticism, wine-soaked picnics, and architecture. Their collaboration would produce one of the most important works of architecture of all time, a blindingly original house made up almost entirely of glass and steel. But the minimalist marvel, built in 1951, was plagued by cost overruns and a sudden chilling of the two friends' mutual affection. Though the building became world-famous, Edith found it impossible to live in the transparent house, and she began a public campaign against Mies, cheered on by Frank Lloyd Wright. Mies, in turn, sued her for unpaid monies. The ensuing trial covered not just the missing funds and the structural shortcomings of the home, but turned into a trial of modernist art and architecture itself. Interweaving personal drama and cultural history, Alex Beam presents a stylish, enthralling tapestry of a tale, illuminating the fascinating history behind one of the twentieth-century's most beautiful and significant architectural projects.

Author(s): Alex Beam
Original Publish Date: Mar 17, 2020

All formats/editions

Author(s): Alex Beam
Product Number Z100152684
Released: Mar 17, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Books on Tape
ISBN: #9780593155806

Sign up for our email newsletter