The Devourers

A Novel
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (13.45 hours)
Product Number: Z100113527
Released: Jul 12, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780451483256
Publisher: Books on Tape
Please log in to view pricing

Description

For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Mieville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination. LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD WINNER NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST On a cool evening in Kolkata, India, beneath a full moon, as the whirling rhythms of traveling musicians fill the night, college professor Alok encounters a mysterious stranger with a bizarre confession and an extraordinary story. Tantalized by the man's unfinished tale, Alok will do anything to hear its completion. So Alok agrees, at the stranger's behest, to transcribe a collection of battered notebooks, weathered parchments, and once-living skins. From these documents spills the chronicle of a race of people at once more than human yet kin to beasts, ruled by instincts and desires blood-deep and ages-old. The tale features a rough wanderer in seventeenth-century Mughal India who finds himself irrevocably drawn to a defiant woman-and destined to be torn asunder by two clashing worlds. With every passing chapter of beauty and brutality, Alok's interest in the stranger grows and evolves into something darker and more urgent. Shifting dreamlike between present and past with intoxicating language, visceral action, compelling characters, and stark emotion, The Devourers offers a reading experience quite unlike any other novel. Praise for The Devourers "A chilling, gorgeous saga that spans several centuries and many lands...?he all-too-human characters-including the nonhuman ones-and the dreamlike, recursive plot serve to entrance the reader...? There's no escaping The Devourers. Readers will savor every bite."-N. K. Jemisin, The New York Times Book Review "The Devourers is beautiful. It is brutal. It is violent and vicious...? [It] also showcases Das's incredible prowess with language and rhythm, and his ability to weave folklore and ancient legend with modern day loneliness."-Tordotcom "A wholly original, primal tale of love, violence, and transformation."-Pierce Brown, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Red Rising Trilogy "Astonishing...? narrative that takes possession of you and pulls you along in its wake."-M. R. Carey, author of The Girl with All the Gifts

x-large
Author(s): Indra Das
Original Publish Date: Jul 12, 2016

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Indra Das
Product Number EB00625620
Released: Jul 12, 2016
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Del Rey
ISBN: #9781101967522

Professional reviews

"One evening at a traditional music festival outside Kolkata, Alok meets a mysterious stranger who claims to be half werewolf. Intrigued, Alok wants to know more and is drawn into a murky world. Narrator Shishir Kurup does a masterful job differentiating between Alok, the slightly nerdy and somewhat shy history professor, and the stranger, a dangerous and smouldering enigma. When the stranger gives Alok a manuscript from the Mughal era to transcribe, the character Cyrah is introduced. Meera Simhan narrates this portion of the story, and she perfectly captures Cyrah's confusion, rage, and ambivalence at the events that sweep her up. This audiobook will not be to everyone's taste, as it straddles the line between fantasy and horror, but those it does appeal to will be richly rewarded. K.M.P. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter