A Clatter of Jars

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (4.52 hours)
Product Number: Z100102070
Released: May 24, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780451485915
Narrator/s: Ellen Archer
Publisher: Listening Library
Please log in to view pricing

Description

One of the finest novelists of her generation, National Book Award nominee Lisa Graff returns readers to the world of A Tangle of Knots, where a camp for Talented kids just might be a recipe for disaster. In this magical companion to the National Book Award nominee A Tangle of Knots, it's summertime and everyone is heading off to camp. For Talented kids, the place to be is Camp Atropos, where they can sing songs by the campfire, practice for the Talent show, and take some nice long dips in the lake. But what the kids don't know is that they've been gathered for a reason-one that the camp's director wants to keep hidden at all costs. Meanwhile, a Talent jar that has been dropped to the bottom of the lake has sprung a leak, and strange things have begun to happen. Dozens of seemingly empty jars have been washing up on the shoreline, Talents have been swapped, and memories have been ripped from one camper's head and placed into another. And no one knows why. With a camp full of kids, a lake full of magic, and a grown-up full of a secrets, A Clatter of Jars is story of summer, family, and the lengths we go to win back the people we love. Perfect for readers who loved Katherine Paterson's The Great Gilly Hopkins or Louis Sachar's Holes. Praise for Lisa Graff's novels: A Clatter of Jars: "Graff is a master of the magical realism genre, and this offering is worthy of a spot in any middle grade collection."-School Library Journal "Graff's vivid character development and world building makes for tight plotting and nicely negotiable complexity. A great fit for fans of Louis Sachar's Holes."-Booklist "Graff's prose and plot construction is as pleasing as ever, and A Clatter of Jars will appeal to a wide range of readers."-Bookpage A Tangle of Knots "Lisa Graff has created a beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories that draw you in."-Abby West, Entertainment Weekly, A- * "Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights."-Kirkus Reviews *STARRED REVIEW* * "Combining the literary sensibility of E. B. White with the insouciance of Louis Sachar, Graff has written a tangle that should satisfy readers for years to come."-Booklist *STARRED REVIEW* Lost in the Sun * "Graff writes with stunning insight [and] consistently demonstrates why character-driven novels can live from generation to generation."-Kirkus Reviews *STARRED REVIEW* * "Graff creates layered, vulnerable characters that are worth getting to know."-Booklist *STARRED REVIEW* * "[A]n ambitious and gracefully executed story."-Publishers Weekly *STARRED REVIEW* * "Weighty matters deftly handled with humor and grace will give this book wide appeal."-School Library Journal *STARRED REVIEW* * "Characterization is thoughtful."-BCCB *STARRED REVIEW* "This is a novel that speaks powerfully, honestly, almost shockingly about our human pain and our human redemption. This book will change you."-Gary Schmidt, author of The Wednesday Wars "Lisa Graff cr

x-large
Author(s): Lisa Graff
Original Publish Date: May 24, 2016

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
A Clatter of Jars
Product Number: BX00049899
Product Number:Z100102070
Product Number:DD24282

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Lisa Graff
Narrator(s): Ellen Archer
Product Number DD24282
Released: May 24, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Listening Library
ISBN: #9780451485885
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Lisa Graff
Product Number EB00621696
Released: May 24, 2016
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Philomel Books
ISBN: #9780698195929

Professional reviews

"A singularly talented narrator, Ellen Archer, presents this deftly woven magical story set in a world in which people possess special talents. These range from the mundane, such as the ability to understand frogs, to the powerful, such as telekinesis. At Camp Atropos for Singular Talents, Cabin Eight's inhabitants grapple with family secrets, heartache, and the devious intent of a crooked camp director. Archer portrays the shifting perspectives of Lily, Chuck, Remy, and other young campers, as well as recurring singularities such as the language of frogs, the beautiful tones of a magical harmonica, the rich notes of a melancholy Spanish lullaby, and the stilted speech of a unique boy. Keep a pen handy to jot down the magical drink recipes! L.T. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter