Series: Wonderland Quartet Series No: 3
Original Publish Date: Feb 21, 2018
Product Number: EB00718298
Released: Feb 21, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780525512561
Publisher: Modern Library
Please log in to view pricing


"If the phrase 'woman of letters' existed, [Joyce Carol Oates] would be, foremost in this country, entitled to it."—John Updike, The New Yorker As powerful and relevant today as it was on its initial publication, them chronicles the tumultuous lives of a family living on the edge of ruin in the Detroit slums, from the 1930s to the 1967 race riots. Praised by The Nation for her "potent, life-gripping imagination," Joyce Carol Oates traces the aspirations and struggles of Loretta Wendall, a dreamy young mother who is filled with regret by the age of sixteen, and the subsequent destinies of her children, Maureen and Jules, who must fight to survive in a world of violence and danger. Winner of the National Book Award, them is an enthralling novel about love, class, race, and the inhumanity of urban life. It is, raves The New York Times, "a superbly accomplished vision." Them is the third novel in the Wonderland Quartet. The books that complete this acclaimed series, A Garden of Earthly Delights, Expensive People, and Wonderland, are also available from the Modern Library. [Oates is] a superb storyteller. For sheer readability, them is unsurpassed."—The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Sign up for our email newsletter