Games of Deception

The True Story of the First U.S. Olympic Basketball Team at the 1936 Olympics in Hitler's Germany
Product Number: EB00754709
Released: Nov 05, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780525514640
Publisher: Philomel Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From the New York Times bestselling author of Strong Inside comes the remarkable true story of the birth of Olympic basketball at the 1936 Summer Games in Hitler's Germany. Perfect for fans of The Boys in the Boat and Unbroken. On a scorching hot day in July 1936, thousands of people cheered as the U.S. Olympic teams boarded the S.S. Manhattan, bound for Berlin. Among the athletes were the 14 players representing the first-ever U.S. Olympic basketball team. As thousands of supporters waved American flags on the docks, it was easy to miss the one courageous man holding a BOYCOTT NAZI GERMANY sign. But it was too late for a boycott now; the ship had already left the harbor. 1936 was a turbulent time in world history. Adolf Hitler had gained power in Germany three years earlier. Jewish people and political opponents of the Nazis were the targets of vicious mistreatment, yet were unaware of the horrors that awaited them in the coming years. But the Olympians on board the S.S. Manhattan and other international visitors wouldn't see any signs of trouble in Berlin. Streets were swept, storefronts were painted, and every German citizen greeted them with a smile. Like a movie set, it was all just a facade, meant to distract from the terrible things happening behind the scenes. This is the incredible true story of basketball, from its invention by James Naismith in Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1891, to the sport's Olympic debut in Berlin and the eclectic mix of people, events and propaganda on both sides of the Atlantic that made it all possible. Includes photos throughout, a Who's-Who of the 1936 Olympics, bibliography, and index.

x-large
Author(s): Andrew Maraniss
Original Publish Date: Nov 05, 2019

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Andrew Maraniss
Product Number Z100148300
Released: Nov 05, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Listening Library
ISBN: #9780593106006

Sign up for our email newsletter