The Altruists

A Novel
Product Number: EB00727955
Released: Mar 05, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780525522720
Publisher: Viking
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"Super brilliant, super funny." -Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story and Lake Success "A truly remarkable debut." -Nathan Hill, author of The Nix Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2019 by The Millions and PureWow A vibrant and perceptive novel about a father's plot to win back his children's inheritance Arthur Alter is in trouble. A middling professor at a Midwestern college, he can't afford his mortgage, he's exasperated his much-younger girlfriend, and his kids won't speak to him. And then there's the money-the small fortune his late wife Francine kept secret, which she bequeathed directly to his children. Those children are Ethan, an anxious recluse living off his mother's money on a choice plot of Brooklyn real estate; and Maggie, a would-be do-gooder trying to fashion herself a noble life of self-imposed poverty. On the verge of losing the family home, Arthur invites his children back to St. Louis under the guise of a reconciliation. But in doing so, he unwittingly unleashes a Pandora's box of age-old resentments and long-buried memories-memories that orbit Francine, the matriarch whose life may hold the key to keeping them together. Spanning New York, Paris, Boston, St. Louis, and a small desert outpost in Zimbabwe, The Altruists is a darkly funny (and ultimately tender) family saga in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jeffrey Eugenides, with shades of Philip Roth and Zadie Smith. It's a novel about money, privilege, politics, campus culture, dating, talk therapy, rural sanitation, infidelity, kink, the American beer industry, and what it means to be a "good person."

x-large
Author(s): Andrew Ridker
Original Publish Date: Mar 05, 2019

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Andrew Ridker
Narrator(s): Mark Bramhall
Product Number Z100141178
Released: Mar 05, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Books on Tape
ISBN: #9781984842459

Sign up for our email newsletter