The Jigsaw Jungle

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (5.45 hours)
Product Number: Z100126860
Released: Jun 19, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780525530428
Narrator/s: Erin Cahill
Publisher: Listening Library
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A mysterious treasure hunt helps to heal a broken family in critically acclaimed author Kristin Levine's first contemporary tale-perfect for fans of Wendy Mass and Jennifer L. Holm Claudia Dalton's father has disappeared. What began as a late night at work has spiraled into a missing persons case-one that's left twelve-year-old Claudia questioning everything she's ever known about her father and their family. But when she finally gets word from her dad, it turns out he isn't missing at all. He's just gone to "think things over" and visit an old friend, whatever that means. Feeling confused and helpless, Claudia starts to assemble a scrapbook, gathering emails, receipts, phone transcripts and more, all in a desperate attempt to figure out what's happening with her dad. Claudia's investigation deepens at her grandfather's house, where she receives an envelope containing a puzzle piece and a cryptic message. It's this curious first clue that sets Claudia on an unexpected treasure hunt that she hopes will bring her dad home and heal whatever's gone wrong with her family. Told through the pages of Claudia's scrapbook, The Jigsaw Jungle is a moving story of a family lost and then found, with a dash of mystery and loads of heart, from award-winning author and middle-grade master Kristin Levine.

x-large
Author(s): Kristin Levine
Original Publish Date: Jun 19, 2018

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Kristin Levine
Product Number EB00706614
Released: Jun 19, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780698193987

Professional reviews

"Narrator Erin Cahill's character voices extract maximum emotion from this scrapbook of receipts, video transcripts, emails, and texts. Twelve-year-old Claudia uses her collection to tell the story of her father's disappearance, its titanic impact on her family, and the treasure hunt he left behind. While time stamp details, addresses, and long lists add realism to the print version, they are tedious and difficult to follow by ear. Also, the story itself has a tonal struggle between the exciting treasure hunt and the weighty family issues. This clash, while awkward, is appropriately reflected in Cahill's portrayal of Claudia. Overall, Cahill captures her transformation from a giddy, hopeful preteen to a frustrated young woman who is grappling with her growing realization that her parents have far more complex lives than she ever imagined. S.T.C. © AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter