Little

A Novel
Product Number: EB00720221
Released: Oct 23, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780525534341
Publisher: Riverhead Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"An amazing achievement...A compulsively readable novel, so canny and weird and surfeited with the reality of human capacity and ingenuity that I am stymied for comparison. Dickens and David Lynch? Defoe meets Margaret Atwood? Judge for yourself."-Gregory Maguire, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked The wry, macabre, unforgettable tale of an ambitious orphan in Revolutionary Paris, befriended by royalty and radicals, who transforms herself into the legendary Madame Tussaud. In 1761, a tiny, odd-looking girl named Marie is born in a village in Switzerland. After the death of her parents, she is apprenticed to an eccentric wax sculptor and whisked off to the seamy streets of Paris, where they meet a domineering widow and her quiet, pale son. Together, they convert an abandoned monkey house into an exhibition hall for wax heads, and the spectacle becomes a sensation. As word of her artistic talent spreads, Marie is called to Versailles, where she tutors a princess and saves Marie Antoinette in childbirth. But outside the palace walls, Paris is roiling: The revolutionary mob is demanding heads, and...?t the wax museum, heads are what they do. In the tradition of Gregory Maguire's Wicked and Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, Edward Carey's Little is a darkly endearing cavalcade of a novel-a story of art, class, determination, and how we hold on to what we love.

x-large
Author(s): Edward Carey
Original Publish Date: Oct 23, 2018

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Edward Carey
Narrator(s): Jayne Entwistle
Product Number Z100137054
Released: Oct 23, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Books on Tape
ISBN: #9780525640646

Sign up for our email newsletter