How Democracies Die

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (8.40 hours)
Product Number: Z100124191
Released: Jan 16, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780525587965
Narrator/s: Fred Sanders
Publisher: Books on Tape
Please log in to view pricing

Description

For readers of On Tyranny and Why Nations Fail, a bracing look at the demise of liberal democracies around the world-and a roadmap for rescuing our own Donald Trump's presidency has raised a question that many of us never thought we'd be asking: Is our democracy in danger? Harvard professors Steven Levitsky and Daniel Ziblatt have spent two decades studying the breakdown of democracies in Europe and Latin America, and they believe the answer is yes. Democracy no longer ends with a bang-in a revolution or military coup-but with a whimper: the slow, steady weakening of critical institutions, such as the judiciary and the press, and the gradual erosion of longstanding political norms. The good news is that there are many exit ramps on the road to authoritarianism. The bad news is that, by electing Trump, we may have already passed the first one. Drawing on decades of research and a wide range of historical and global examples, from 1930s Europe to contemporary Hungary, Turkey, and Venezuela, Levitsky and Ziblatt show how democracies die-and how ours can be saved.

x-large
Awards:New York Times Bestseller
Original Publish Date: Jan 16, 2018

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Product Number EB00704624
Released: Jan 16, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Broadway Books
ISBN: #9781524762957

Sign up for our email newsletter