The Romanov Empress

A Novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (17.82 hours)
Product Number: Z100130417
Released: Jul 10, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780525593652
Narrator/s: Katharine Lee McEwan
Publisher: Books on Tape
Please log in to view pricing

Description

For readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir comes a dramatic novel of the beloved Empress Maria, the Danish princess who became the mother of the last Russian tsar. "This epic tale is captivating and beautifully told."-Lisa Wingate, New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were Yours Barely nineteen, Minnie knows that her station in life as a Danish princess is to leave her family and enter into a royal marriage-as her older sister Alix has done, moving to England to wed Queen Victoria's eldest son. The winds of fortune bring Minnie to Russia, where she marries the Romanov heir, Alexander, and once he ascends the throne, becomes empress. When resistance to his reign strikes at the heart of her family and the tsar sets out to crush all who oppose him, Minnie-now called Maria-must tread a perilous path of compromise in a country she has come to love. Her husband's death leaves their son Nicholas as the inexperienced ruler of a deeply divided and crumbling empire. Determined to guide him to reforms that will bring Russia into the modern age, Maria faces implacable opposition from Nicholas's strong-willed wife, Alexandra, whose fervor has led her into a disturbing relationship with a mystic named Rasputin. As the unstoppable wave of revolution rises anew to engulf Russia, Maria will face her most dangerous challenge and her greatest heartache. From the opulent palaces of St. Petersburg and the intrigue-laced salons of the aristocracy to the World War I battlefields and the bloodied countryside occupied by the Bolsheviks, C. W. Gortner sweeps us into the anarchic fall of an empire and the complex, bold heart of the woman who tried to save it. Praise for The Romanov Empress "Timely...?Gortner's] ability to weave what reads as a simple tale from such complex historical and familial storylines is impressive...? Maria's life as a royal reads like a historical soap opera."-USA Today "Gortner, an experienced hand at recreating the unique aura of a particular time and place, will deftly sweep historical-fictions fans into this glamorous, turbulent, and ultimately tragic chapter in history."-Booklist (starred review) "Mesmerizing...?his insightful first-person account of the downfall of the Romanov rule...?s the powerful story of a mother trying to save her family and an aristocrat fighting to maintain rule in a country of rebellion."-Publishers Weekly "A twist on the tragic story you've heard many times before."-Bustle

x-large
Author(s): C.W. Gortner
Original Publish Date: Jul 10, 2018

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): C.W. Gortner
Product Number EB00714385
Released: Jul 10, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Ballantine Books
ISBN: #9780425286173

Professional reviews

"Katharine McEwan gives a first-rate performance as Maria "Minnie" Feodorovna, the Danish princess who became czarina of Russia, and mother of Nicholas, the last Romanov czar. McEwan is utterly believable as the young woman leaving home, expecting to marry the czarevich, heir to the Russian throne. McEwan fully becomes Minnie as she shares her dreams and disappointments, her surprisingly loving marriage, and her joys in motherhood. With wry tones McEwan shows the older Minnie's manipulations, making almost palpable her instinctive distrust of Alexandra, Nicholas's chosen bride. McEwan transports us from the nobility's overindulgent palaces to the people's soul-sucking poverty to the inevitable revolution, all told through the eyes of the Romanov empress. Gortner's impeccable research and McEwan's spot-on narration make for entertaining and informative listening. S.J.H. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter