The Truth About Martians

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (8.97 hours)
Product Number: Z100133369
Released: Oct 02, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780525635857
Narrator/s: Lincoln Hoppe
Publisher: Listening Library
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A boy and his best friends set out to discover the aliens who crash-landed next to their Roswell, New Mexico, farm in this charming novel packed with adventure and heart, perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin's The Thing About Jellyfish and Jennifer L. Holm's The Fourteenth Goldfish. Mylo never really believed in Martians, unless they had a starring role in one of his comic books. But then a flying saucer crash-lands next to his Roswell, New Mexico, ranch, and he starts to hear voices-like someone is asking for his help. With his best friend Dibs and crush Gracie by his side, and his Cracker Jack superhero membership card, a slingshot, and a small American flag-for peace-in tow, Mylo sets out on an epic adventure to investigate the crash and find the Martians. But he and his friends end up discovering more about the universe than they ever could have imagined.

x-large
Author(s): Melissa Savage
Original Publish Date: Oct 02, 2018

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Melissa Savage
Product Number EB00719885
Released: Oct 02, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Yearling
ISBN: #9781524700188

Professional reviews

"Narrator Lincoln Hoppe conveys a range of emotions in this historical fiction reminiscent of E.T. and set in 1947 Roswell, New Mexico. One night, after witnessing a crash next to his ranch, 11-year-old Mylo, whose brother has recently died, hears a mysterious voice in his head "whisper-scream" for help. Mylo and his best friend, Dibs, venture into the desert and find the wreckage of a flying saucer. Hoppe's portrayal of Mylo is thoughtful and serious, while Dibs's openhearted enthusiasm and swagger bring humor. These contrasts effectively balance Mylo's heartrending grief with the more adventurous aspects of the story. Listeners will relate to the boys' genuine friendship, though contemporary listeners may be jarred by a scene that describes playing "cowboys and Indians." S.C. © AudioFile 2019, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter