Running Home

A Memoir
x-large
Author(s): Katie Arnold
Original Publish Date: Mar 12, 2019
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (11.37 hours)
Product Number: Z100140850
Released: Mar 12, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780525637592
Narrator/s: Katie Arnold
Publisher: Books on Tape
Please log in to view pricing

Description

In the tradition of Wild and H Is for Hawk, an Outside magazine writer tells her story—of fathers and daughters, grief and renewal, adventure and obsession, and the power of running to change your life. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY REAL SIMPLE I'm running to forget, and to remember. For more than a decade, Katie Arnold chased adventure around the world, reporting on extreme athletes who performed outlandish feats—walking high lines a thousand feet off the ground without a harness, or running one hundred miles through the night. She wrote her stories by living them, until eventually life on the thin edge of risk began to seem normal. After she married, Katie and her husband vowed to raise their daughters to be adventurous, too, in the mountains and canyons of New Mexico. But when her father died of cancer, she was forced to confront her own mortality. His death was cataclysmic, unleashing a perfect storm of grief and anxiety. She and her father, an enigmatic photographer for National Geographic, had always been kindred spirits. He introduced her to the outdoors and took her camping and on bicycle trips and down rivers, and taught her to find solace and courage in the natural world. And it was he who encouraged her to run her first race when she was seven years old. Now nearly paralyzed by fear and terrified she was dying, too, she turned to the thing that had always made her feel most alive: running. Over the course of three tumultuous years, she ran alone through the wilderness, logging longer and longer distances, first a 50-kilometer ultramarathon, then 50 miles, then 100 kilometers. She ran to heal her grief, to outpace her worry that she wouldn't live to raise her own daughters. She ran to find strength in her weakness. She ran to remember and to forget. She ran to live. Ultrarunning tests the limits of human endurance over seemingly inhuman distances, and as she clocked miles across mesas and mountains, Katie learned to tolerate pain and discomfort, and face her fears of uncertainty, vulnerability, and even death itself. As she ran, she found herself peeling back the layers of her relationship with her father, discovering that much of what she thought she knew about him, and her own past, was wrong. Running Home is a memoir about the stories we tell ourselves to make sense of our world—the stories that hold us back, and the ones that set us free. Mesmerizing, transcendent, and deeply exhilarating, it is a book for anyone who has been knocked over by life, or feels the pull of something bigger and wilder within themselves. "A beautiful work of searching remembrance and searing honesty . . . Katie Arnold is as gifted on the page as she is on the trail. Running Home will soon join such classics as Born to Run and Ultramarathon Man as quintessential reading of the genre."—Hampton Sides, author of On Desperate Ground and Ghost Soldiers

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Katie Arnold
Product Number EB00728246
Released: Mar 12, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: #9780425284667

Professional reviews

"You don't have to think that running an ultramarathon sounds like fun to enjoy the ride that Katie Arnold takes you on as she delivers her memoir on her complicated relationship with her father and her adventures while writing for OUTSIDE magazine and running--always running. She narrates it all with genuine emotion and self-reflection, an appealing slightly raspy timbre, and a smooth flow. Although Arnold's father leaves his family when she is a small child, their bond is strong, and she is devastated when he dies; her voice contains that deep feeling. Arnold is introduced to the great outdoors by her father, and her bliss becomes running in the mountains and the wilderness. You will feel her aching muscles, soaring spirits, and the guilt she feels about the time running takes away from her family. A.B. © AudioFile 2019, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter