Spin the Dawn

x-large
Author(s): Elizabeth Lim
Series: Blood of Stars Series No: 1
Original Publish Date: Jul 09, 2019
Product Number: EB00743866
Released: Jul 09, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780525647010
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"Looking for your next big YA fantasy series? We've got our eye on this stylist blockbuster."—Entertainment Weekly Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars. Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she'll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There's just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job. Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia's task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise. And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor's reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined. Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renee Ahdieh. "Spin the Dawn is proof that casting a wider net not only gives us a fresh story that feels unlike everything else on the shelves beside it but also allows for richer and more nuanced storytelling." —NPR "All the cutthroat competition of a runway fashion reality show and the thrilling exploits of an epic quest a stunning tapestry of adventure." —The Washington Post "What an amazing creation! Every time I thought I knew where it was going, I was wrong. This is a white-knuckle read."—Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Tempests and Slaughter

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Elizabeth Lim
Narrator(s): Kim Mai Guest
Series:
Product Number Z100145722
Released: Jul 09, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Listening Library
ISBN: #9781984884541

Sign up for our email newsletter