The Sky Below

Product Number: EB00030675
Released: Apr 21, 2010
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780547394275
Publisher: Mariner Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From a rising literary star "in the tradition of Carol Shields and A. S. Byatt" comes this luminous story of a contemporary man's metamorphosis. Andrea Barrett and Michael Cunningham have lauded Stacey D'Erasmo for the beauty of her language and her ability to create worlds that leave a lasting impression. In her new novel, D'Erasmo reaches back to Ovid for inspiration in this tale of how the mythic animates our everyday lives. At thirty-seven, Gabriel Collins works halfheartedly as an obituary writer at a fading newspaper in lower Manhattan, which, since 9/11, feels like a city of the dead. This once dreamy and appealing boy has turned from a rebellious adolescent to an adult who trades in petty crimes.His wealthy, older boyfriend is indulgent of him-to a point. But after a brush with his own mortality, Gabriel must flee to Mexico in order to put himself back together. By novel's end, we know all of Gabriel's ratty little secrets, but by dint of D'Erasmo's spectacular writing, we exult in the story of an imperfect man who-tested by a world that is often too much for him-rises to meet the challenge.

x-large
Author(s): Stacey D'Erasmo
Original Publish Date: Apr 21, 2010

Sign up for our email newsletter