The Mill River Recluse

A Novel
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (10.98 hours)
Product Number: Z100075050
Released: Jun 17, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780553398106
Narrator/s: Amy Rubinate
Publisher: Books on Tape
Please log in to view pricing

Description

The sensational New York Times bestseller The Mill River Recluse reminds us that friendship, family, and love can come from the most unexpected places. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more. From the outside, Mill River looks like any sleepy little Vermont town where everyone knows everyone and people never need to lock their doors. There are newcomers for whom this appeals, from police officer Kyle Hansen and his daughter Rowen, who are starting over after heartache, to Claudia Simon, the schoolteacher who is determined to reinvent herself. But on closer inspection, there are those in Mill River-including a stealthy arsonist, a covetous nurse, and a pilfering priest-who have things they wish to hide. None more than the widow Mary McAllister, who for the past sixty years has secluded herself in her marble mansion overlooking the town. Most of the residents have never even seen the peculiar woman. Only the priest, Father O'Brien, knows the deep secrets that keep Mary isolated-and that, once revealed, will forever change the community. Praise for The Mill River Recluse "A heartwarming story."-Examiner "[Darcie] Chan's sweet novel displays her talent...? A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together."-Kirkus Reviews "A real page-turner."-IndieReader "Chan does an amazing job with pacing while maintaining continuity and weaving universal themes such as friendship, love, new beginnings and overcoming adversities into small town life."-RT Book Reviews "This debut novel is a genre-breaking thriller with romantic overtones that should appeal to both men and women."-Huntington News "Chan's compassionate novel...?lends elements of mystery, suspense and romance...?and] culminates in a beautifully rendered denouement that rekindles hope for a troubled world."-Shelf Awareness

x-large
Author(s): Darcie Chan
Series: Mill River Series No: 1
Original Publish Date: Jun 17, 2014

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Darcie Chan
Series:
Product Number EB00152045
Released: Dec 27, 2013
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Ballantine Books
ISBN: #9780615523774

Sign up for our email newsletter