The Land of Neverendings

Product Number: EB00715929
Released: Aug 14, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780553497915
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A beautiful and heartbreaking novel from an award-winning author about a girl who gets swept up into an adventure involving forgotten toys, perfect for fans of Lauren Wolk and Kelly Barnhill. "A delicate, funny, poignant exploration of grief, love and memory that has the welcoming warmth of an instant classic."—The Guardian Emily and her sister, Holly, were as close as sisters could be. They did everything together. But Holly died three months ago, and Emily's world is shattered. Amid a sea of changes—her best friend is acting distant, she's just started at a new school, and she's been cast as the lead in the school play—Emily is surprised to find that she misses Holly's teddy bear, Bluey, almost as much as she misses Holly herself. But Bluey was buried with Holly, and there's no getting either of them back. Then one night, Emily dreams of talking toys, who tell her they have come from the toy world with a message from Bluey. Emily is convinced she can be reunited with him. But there's something strange about the barrier between the toy world and the real world. Not just strange, but dangerous—magic is spilling out, and it's wreaking havoc on Emily's world. Now she must decide whether finding Bluey is worth risking the lives of those she loves. "Deeply moving and highly imaginative."—The Daily Mail "Written from the heart and can't fail to make yours sing."—The Times, Book of the Week "One of the wittiest books of the year."—The Sunday Times "Suffused with longing and dappled with humor, this novel explores the limits of grief and the lasting power of storytelling."—Wall Street Journal "From whimsical comicality to impending danger...a standalone title, in which the topic of loss is dealt with deftly. For readers willing to let their imagination soar, this fantasy may be just what they are looking for, especially if they have experienced grief."—School Library Journal "An imaginative, magical story ideal for kids experiencing loss."—Kirkus Reviews "Wise in the ways of loss as Emily discovers that the route through grief lies not in escaping to Smockeroon but in engaging with the hard world, in the passage of time, in friendship, memory, and, above all, storytelling."—The Horn Book, Starred Review "A refreshing take on the classic theme of toys coming to life, with the residents of Smockeroon amusingly sassy and self involved. There is still plenty of warmth...while the magical elements cushion the heftier themes...A pleasing blend of sentiment and humor."—Bulletin "Saunders combines the hard reality of loss and the soft comfort of fantasy surprisingly well, offering unexpected humor in Smockeroon as well as sharp insights into human characters."—Booklist

x-large
Author(s): Kate Saunders
Original Publish Date: Aug 14, 2018

You can find this title in the following lists:

Sign up for our email newsletter