The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary

Product Number: EB00619266
Released: Apr 12, 2016
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780553521399
Publisher: Wendy Lamb Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

An award-winning, big-hearted time capsule of one class's poems during a transformative school year. A great pick for fans of Margarita Engle and Eileen Spinelli. Eighteen kids, one year of poems, one school set to close. Two yellow bulldozers crouched outside, ready to eat the building in one greedy gulp. But look out, bulldozers. Ms. Hill's fifth-grade class has plans for you. They're going to speak up and work together to save their school. Families change and new friendships form as these terrific kids grow up and move on in this whimsical novel-in-verse about finding your voice and making sure others hear it. Honors and Praise: Winner of a Cybils Award in Poetry Winner of an Arnold Adoff Poetry Honor Award for New Voices An NCTE Notable Verse Novel A Bank Street College of Education Best Children's Book of the Year An ILA-CBC Children's Choice Nominated for the Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Award, the Wisconsin State Reading Association Children's Book Award, the Rhode Island Children's Book Award, and the Great Stone Face Award (New Hampshire), Lectio Book Award Master List "This gently evocative study of change in all its glory and terror would make a terrific read-aloud or introduction to a poetry unit. A most impressive debut." -School Library Journal "Sure to inspire the poet in all of us, young and old." -Mark Goldblatt, author of Twerp

x-large
Author(s): Laura Shovan
Original Publish Date: Apr 12, 2016

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
ISBN: #9781501925344
eAudio
x-large
ISBN: #9781501925566
Kit
x-large
ISBN: #9781501933950
x-large
ISBN: #9781501933967
x-large
ISBN: #9781501933974
Text
x-large
Teacher's Guide
Author(s): Laura Shovan
Product Number 4T1054
Released: Apr 12, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781501933943
x-large
Text - Hardback
Author(s): Laura Shovan
Product Number 161077
Released: Apr 12, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780553521375

Sign up for our email newsletter