Pie in the Sky

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (5.82 hours)
Product Number: Z100153409
Released: Dec 17, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780593208434
Narrator/s: Remy Hii
Publisher: Listening Library
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A poignant, laugh-out-loud illustrated middle-grade novel-adapted for audio-about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang! Recipient of FIVE starred reviews! "Pie in the Sky is like enjoying a decadent cake...?eartwarming and rib-tickling." -Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he's landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn't speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao. To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama. Remy Lai's hilarious, moving illustrated middle-grade debut, with its pitch-perfect writing, makes for a scrumptious audiobook adaptation. It will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends, Kelly Yang's Front Desk, and Jerry Craft's New Kid. * "The humor [is] akin to that of Jeff Kinney's popular 'Wimpy Kid' series...?he perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant."-School Library Journal, starred review

x-large
Author(s): Remy Lai
Original Publish Date: Dec 17, 2019

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Remy Lai
Product Number EB00730316
Released: May 14, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781250208675

Sign up for our email newsletter