A Burning

A novel
x-large
Author(s): Megha Majumdar
Original Publish Date: Jun 02, 2020
eAudio - unabridged
Audio
Product Number: Z100155096
Released: Jun 02, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780593212110
Publisher: Books on Tape
Please log in to view pricing

Description

For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise—to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies—and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India. Jivan is a Muslim girl from the slums, determined to move up in life, who is accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train because of a careless comment on Facebook. PT Sir is an opportunistic gym teacher who hitches his aspirations to a right-wing political party, and finds that his own ascent becomes linked to Jivan's fall. Lovely—an irresistible outcast whose exuberant voice and dreams of glory fill the novel with warmth and hope and humor—has the alibi that can set Jivan free, but it will cost her everything she holds dear. Taut, symphonic, propulsive, and riveting from its opening lines, A Burning has the force of an epic while being so masterfully compressed it can be read in a single sitting. Majumdar writes with dazzling assurance at a breakneck pace on complex themes that read here as the components of a thriller: class, fate, corruption, justice, and what it feels like to face profound obstacles and yet nurture big dreams in a country spinning toward extremism. An extraordinary debut.

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Megha Majumdar
Product Number EB00767335
Released: Jun 02, 2020
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Knopf
ISBN: #9780525658702

Sign up for our email newsletter