The Mill River Recluse

A Novel
x-large
Author(s): Darcie Chan
Series: Mill River Series No: 1
Original Publish Date: May 18, 2011
Product Number: EB00152045
Released: Dec 27, 2013
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780615523774
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

The sensational New York Times bestseller The Mill River Recluse reminds us that friendship, family, and love can come from the most unexpected places. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy. From the outside, Mill River looks like any sleepy little Vermont town where everyone knows everyone and people never need to lock their doors. There are newcomers for whom this appeals, from police officer Kyle Hansen and his daughter Rowen, who are starting over after heartache, to Claudia Simon, the schoolteacher who is determined to reinvent herself. But on closer inspection, there are those in Mill River—including a stealthy arsonist, a covetous nurse, and a pilfering priest—who have things they wish to hide. None more than the widow Mary McAllister, who for the past sixty years has secluded herself in her marble mansion overlooking the town. Most of the residents have never even seen the peculiar woman. Only the priest, Father O'Brien, knows the deep secrets that keep Mary isolated—and that, once revealed, will forever change the community. Praise for The Mill River Recluse "[Darcie] Chan's sweet novel displays her talent...? A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together."—Kirkus Reviews "A heartwarming story."—Examiner "A real page-turner."—IndieReader

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Darcie Chan
Narrator(s): Amy Rubinate
Series:
Product Number Z100075050
Released: Jun 17, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Books on Tape
ISBN: #9780553398106

Sign up for our email newsletter