Death and the Maiden

Product Number: EB00165729
Released: Dec 29, 2013
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780679644866
Publisher: Random House
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Frank Tallis, acclaimed author of the Edgar Award-nominated Vienna Secrets, returns with a new and masterfully woven tale full of deceit, love, and rich mystery. Set in fin de siecle Vienna, it's perfect for fans of Boris Akunin, Alan Furst, and David Liss. Ida Rosenkranz is top diva at the Vienna Opera, but she's gone silent for good after an apparent laudanum overdose. Learning of her professional rivalries and her scandalous affairs with older men, Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt and Dr. Max Liebermann suspect foul play instead. Their investigation leads them into dark and dangerous conflicts with Gustav Mahler, the opera's imperious director, who is himself the target of a poison pen campaign, and Karl Lueger, Vienna's powerful and anti-Semitic mayor. As the peril escalates, Rheinhardt grows further into his role as family man, while Liebermann finds himself at odds with his inamorata, Amelia, who's loosening both her corset and her tongue in the new feminist movement. PRAISE FOR FRANK TALLIS'S VIENNA THRILLERS "[A] captivating historical series."-The New York Times Book Review "[A] riveting read...?ith well researched and wonderfully imagined period detail."-The Guardian (U.K.), on Vienna Twilight "Chock-full of tantalizing elements."-The Austin Chronicle, on Vienna Secrets "Engrossing...?mmensely satisfying."-The Boston Globe, on Fatal Lies

x-large
Author(s): Frank Tallis
Series: Liebermann Papers Series No: 6
Original Publish Date: Oct 09, 2012

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Frank Tallis
Narrator(s): Robert Fass
Series:
Product Number Z100031739
Released: Oct 02, 2012
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780792791393

Sign up for our email newsletter