Cast Off

The Strange Adventures of Petra de Winter and Bram Broen
x-large
Author(s): Eve Yohalem
Original Publish Date: May 19, 2015
Product Number: EB00584581
Released: May 19, 2015
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780698164482
Publisher: Dial Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A tale of pirates, mutiny, and friendship on the high seas, perfect for fans of The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle It's 1663 and there is an extra passenger on board a Dutch merchant ship setting sail for the East Indies. Twelve-year-old Petra has stowed away to escape her abusive father. But she quickly realizes that surviving for months at sea will be impossible without help. So when Bram, the half-Dutch / Half-Javanese son of the ship's carpenter, finds her hiding spot, Petra convinces him to help her stay hidden...and help disguise her as a boy. If Petra is discovered and exposed as a girl, she could be tossed overboard, or worse...?eturned to her father. And if Bram is exposed for helping her, he could lose the only home—and family—he has. As tensions rise on the ship, with pirates attacking, deadly illness, and even mutiny, Petra and Bram face impossible decisions that test their friendship and threaten their dreams of freedom. Told in alternating voices and filled with secrets and intrigue, this richly researched novel is historical fiction at its best.

Sign up for our email newsletter