An Uninterrupted View of the Sky

Product Number: EB00686208
Released: Jun 13, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780698175600
Publisher: Philomel Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Modern history unearthed as a boy becomes an innocent victim of corruption in Bolivia's crime world, where the power of family is both a prison and a means of survival. It's 1999 in Bolivia and Francisco's life consists of school, soccer, and trying to find space for himself in his family's cramped yet boisterous home. But when his father is arrested on false charges and sent to prison by a corrupt system that targets the uneducated, the poor, and the indigenous majority, Francisco and his sister are left with no choice: They must move into prison with their father. There, they find a world unlike anything they've ever known, where everything—a door, a mattress, protection from other inmates—has its price. Prison life is dirty, dire, and dehumanizing. With their lives upended, Francisco faces an impossible decision: Break up the family and take his sister to their grandparents in the Andean highlands, fleeing the city and the future within his grasp, or remain together in the increasingly dangerous prison. Pulled between two undesirable options, Francisco must confront everything he once believed about the world and his place within it. In this heart-wrenching novel, Melanie Crowder sheds light on a little-known era of modern South American history—where injustice still looms large—and proves that hope can be found, even in the most desperate places. Perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys, Matt de la Pena, and Jacqueline Woodson. Praise for An Uninterrupted View of the Sky: "Crowder delivers a disturbing portrait of innocent families trapped in corrupt systems, as well as a testament to the strength of enduring cultural traditions and the possibility of finding family in the unlikeliest places."—Publishers Weekly, starred review "Readers will feel utterly invested in Francisco's various challenges...A riveting, Dickensian tale."—Kirkus, starred review "Themes of poverty, social injustice...violence toward women, coming-of-age, romantic love, and a sliver of precarious hope are woven into the plot...[An] important addition to libraries."—School Library Journal, starred review "[A] trenchant novel...This hard-hitting, ultimately hopeful story will open readers' eyes to a lesser-known historical moment and the far-reaching implications of U.S. policy."—Booklist "[This novel] is raw, gripping, poetic and bold...Crowder takes you on an emotional pilgrimage that you won't want to end."—RT Book Reviews, five-starred review Praise for Audacity: 2015 National Jewish Book Award finalist Washington Post Best Children's Poetry Book New York Public Library Best Book for Teens ILA Notable Book for a Global Society ALA Top 10 Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick ALSC Notable Children's Book nominee "Crowder breathes life into a world long past...Compelling, powerful and unforgettable."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review "[An] impactful addition to any historical fiction collection."—School Library Journal, starred review "With a thorough historical note, glossary of terms, and bibliography, this will make an excellent complement to units on women's rights and the labo

x-large
Author(s): Melanie Crowder
Original Publish Date: Jun 13, 2017

You can find this title in the following lists:

Sign up for our email newsletter