The Best Man

Product Number: EB00631045
Released: Sep 20, 2016
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780698189737
Publisher: Dial Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos. Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth-Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school. But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story. In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.

x-large
Author(s): Richard Peck
Original Publish Date: Sep 20, 2016

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Richard Peck
Narrator(s): Michael Crouch
Product Number DD26131
Released: Sep 20, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Listening Library
ISBN: #9780735288867
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Richard Peck
Narrator(s): Michael Crouch
Product Number Z100114599
Released: Sep 20, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Listening Library
ISBN: #9780735288898

Sign up for our email newsletter