How to Be a Person in the World

Ask Polly's Guide Through the Paradoxes of Modern Life
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (7.48 hours)
Product Number: Z100113274
Released: Jul 12, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780735206427
Narrator/s: Heather Havrilesky
Publisher: Books on Tape
Please log in to view pricing

Description

*A New York Times Love and Relationships bestseller* For readers of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of brand new, impassioned, and inspiring letters by the author of the beloved advice column Ask Polly, featured weekly on New York Magazine's The Cut Should you quit your day job to follow your dreams? How do you rein in an overbearing mother? Will you ever stop dating wishy-washy, noncommittal guys? Should you put off having a baby for your career? Heather Havrilesky, the author of the weekly advice column Ask Polly, featured in New York magazine's The Cut, is here to guide you through the "what if's" and "I don't knows" of modern life with the signature wisdom and tough love her readers have come to expect. How to Be a Person in the World is a collection of never-before-published material along with a few fan favorites. Whether she's responding to cheaters or loners, lovers or haters, the depressed or the down-and-out, Havrilesky writes with equal parts grace, humor, and compassion to remind you that even in your darkest moments you're not alone.

x-large
Author(s): Heather Havrilesky
Original Publish Date: Jul 12, 2016

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Heather Havrilesky
Product Number EB00625576
Released: Jul 12, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Anchor
ISBN: #9780385540407

Professional reviews

"Heather Havrilesky, advice columnist for NEW YORK magazine, addresses the best questions she's been asked over the years, all of which culminates in advice on how to be a good person. She gets down to the root of the matter in a blunt but effective way with a voice that radiates enthusiasm, sass, and practical wisdom. Her bursts of energetic swearing somehow add authenticity and urgency to her thoughtful responses. Advice on dating, career paths, and other life choices will delight listeners who may have the same problems and those who simply want to hear clever responses to interesting questions. This capable advice columnist sounds like a trusted friend. D.Z. © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter