The Best Man

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (4.42 hours)
Product Number: Z100114599
Released: Sep 20, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780735288898
Narrator/s: Michael Crouch
Publisher: Listening Library
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos. Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth-Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school. But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story. In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.

x-large
Author(s): Richard Peck
Original Publish Date: Sep 20, 2016

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Richard Peck
Narrator(s): Michael Crouch
Product Number DD26131
Released: Sep 20, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Listening Library
ISBN: #9780735288867
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Richard Peck
Product Number EB00631045
Released: Sep 20, 2016
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Dial Books
ISBN: #9780698189737

Professional reviews

"There are four men Archer Magill wants to be like when he grows up: his dad, his grandpa, his Uncle Paul, and his teacher, Mr. McLeod. Narrator Michael Crouch is a natural with kid voices, and Archer sounds exactly like the sixth-grader he is. Crouch differentiates clearly between the kid and adult characters as the plot veers from touching to zany and back again. Peck's middle-grade novel feels old-fashioned and contemporary at the same time, and nostalgic in the best way. The road trip Archer takes with his dad is just one of the scenes that perfectly capture the heart-squeezy magic of finding a real moment of connection with someone you love. Listeners will relate, whether they're all grown up or still growing. J.M.D. © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter