The Mark Twain Sampler

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (3.02 hours)
Product Number: Z100029071
Released: Jun 01, 2012
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780792791850
Narrator/s: Blair Einstein
Please log in to view pricing


An unforgettable collection of Mark Twain's best writings-witty, passionate, fiery, and nothing short of profound. This collection includes the following stories: "The Notorious Jumping Frog of Calaveras County""The Facts Concerning the Recent Carnival of Crime in Connecticut" "Autobiographical Anecdotes""The Lesson""As Regards Patriotism""Speech on the Weather""How I Edited an Agricultural Paper""Plymouth Rock and the Pilgrims""The Report of My Death""When a Book Gets Tired""The Approaching Epidemic""Letter to the Earth" "The Death of Jean"

Author(s): Mark Twain
Original Publish Date: Jun 01, 2012

Professional reviews

"Blair Einstein offers an entertaining evening with Mr. Twain. This one-man show offers short fiction, speeches, satire, aphorisms and letters: all furnishing a good introduction to the crusty Connecticut Yankee--as an author and as a man. Einstein reveals humor in an essay on weather and conveys grief in "The Death of Jean." His confusion with regional accents occasionally breaks the pace, but his wholehearted performance and Twain's general appeal hold the listener. Nonetheless, the spacing of segments is distracting. Such a variety of form and mood requires sensitive timing between selections. S.B.S. (c)AudioFile, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter