The Flirt

Author(s): M.C. Beaton
Series: Regency Intrigue Series No: 1
Original Publish Date: Jan 12, 2014
Product Number: EB00755395
Released: Mar 08, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780795320125
Publisher: RosettaBooks
Please log in to view pricing


To escape her cruel uncle's guardianship, a debutante agrees to marry a man she despises in this regency romance from a New York Times–bestselling author. After her parents' death, Elizabeth Markham is reduced to the unspeakable class of poor relation. Forced to live with her cruel, miserly uncle, Elizabeth is forbidden to participate in the season's festivities. Realizing that marriage is her only escape, she enacts a daring plan to trick her way into the Duke of Dunster's exclusive house party and snare one of the eligible bachelors. At the party, Elizabeth flirts with all but the arrogant Lord Charles Lufford, though he's considered to be quite a catch. But when her uncle discovers her deception, it is Charles who comes to her rescue—by announcing their engagement! Meanwhile, Elizabeth has come into an inheritance. And her uncle, along with another sinister party, would rather see her dead than receive it. Even if she begins to see Charles for the kindhearted man he is, will their match be enough to save her? A Regency Intrigue novel from Marion Chesney, writing as M.C. Beaton, New York Times–bestselling author of the popular Hamish Macbeth and Agatha Raisin series, both of which have been adapted for TV by the BBC and PBS.

Sign up for our email newsletter