Rhinoceros and Other Plays

Includes: The Leader; The Future Is in Eggs; It Takes All Kinds to Make a World
Product Number: EB00640690
Released: Mar 11, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780802190758
Please log in to view pricing


In Rhinoceros, as in his earlier plays, Ionesco startles audiences with a world that invariably erupts in explosive laughter and nightmare anxiety. A rhinoceros suddenly appears in a small town, tramping through its peaceful streets. Soon there are two, then three, until the "movement" is universal: a transformation of average citizens into beasts, as they learn to move with the times. Finally, only one man remains. "I'm the last man left, and I'm staying that way until the end. I'm not capitulating!" Rhinoceros is a commentary on the absurdity of the human condition made tolerable only by self-delusion. It shows us the struggle of the individual to maintain integrity and identity alone in a world where all others have succumbed to the "beauty" of brute force, natural energy, and mindlessness. Includes Rhinoceros, The Leader, The Future Is in Eggs or It Takes All Sorts to Make a World

Author(s): Eugene Ionesco
Genre: Drama
Original Publish Date: Mar 31, 2015

Sign up for our email newsletter