The Man Who Spoke Snakish

Product Number: EB00640710
Released: Mar 11, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780802190956
Publisher: Grove Atlantic
Please log in to view pricing

Description

The runaway Estonian bestseller tells the imaginative and moving story of a boy tasked with preserving ancient traditions in the face of modernity. Set in a fantastical version of medieval Estonia, The Man Who Spoke Snakish follows a young boy, Leemet, who lives with his hunter-gatherer family in the forest and is the last speaker of the ancient tongue of snakish, a language that allows its speakers to command all animals. But the forest is gradually emptying as more and more people leave to settle in villages, where they break their backs tilling the land to grow wheat for their bread" (which Leemet has been told tastes horrible) and where they pray to a god very different from the spirits worshipped in the forest's sacred grove. With lothario bears who wordlessly seduce women, a giant louse with a penchant for swimming, a legendary flying frog, and a young charismatic viper named Ints, The Man Who Spoke Snakish is a totally inventive novel for readers of David Mitchell, SjOn, and Terry Pratchett.

x-large
Author(s): Andrus Kivirahk
Original Publish Date: Nov 03, 2015

Sign up for our email newsletter