Instructions for a Heatwave

Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
Original Publish Date: Jun 18, 2013
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (9.13 hours)
Product Number: Z100033478
Released: Jun 18, 2013
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780804120708
Narrator/s: John Lee
Publisher: Books on Tape
Please log in to view pricing


Sophisticated, intelligent, impossible to put down, Maggie O'Farrell's beguiling novels—After You'd Gone, winner of a Betty Trask Award; The Distance Between Us, winner of a Somerset Maugham Award; The Hand That First Held Mine, winner of the Costa Novel Award; and her unforgettable bestseller The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox—blend richly textured psychological drama with page-turning suspense. Instructions for a Heatwave finds her at the top of her game, with a novel about a family crisis set during the legendary British heatwave of 1976. Gretta Riordan wakes on a stultifying July morning to find that her husband of forty years has gone to get the paper and vanished, cleaning out his bank account along the way. Gretta's three grown children converge on their parents' home for the first time in years: Michael Francis, a history teacher whose marriage is failing; Monica, with two stepdaughters who despise her and a blighted past that has driven away the younger sister she once adored; and Aoife, the youngest, now living in Manhattan, a smart, immensely resourceful young woman who has arranged her entire life to conceal a devastating secret. Maggie O'Farrell writes with exceptional grace and sensitivity about marriage, about the mysteries that inhere within families, and the fault lines over which we build our lives—the secrets we hide from the people who know and love us best. In a novel that stretches from the heart of London to New York City's Upper West Side to a remote village on the coast of Ireland, O'Farrell paints a bracing portrait of a family falling apart and coming together with hard-won, life-changing truths about who they really are.

All formats/editions

Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
Product Number EB00161512
Released: Dec 27, 2013
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: #9780385349413

Professional reviews

"As the unrelenting heatwave of 1976 frays everyone's nerves, Robert Riordan leaves home one morning and seemingly disappears. When his wife of 40 years calls their grown children home to help find him, each returns harboring a secret and long-held resentments. Narrator John Lee's lyrical cadence sets the mood for this affecting story of cultural expectations and family relationships. Lee adapts his pacing, energy, and native British accent (tinged with an Irish lilt) to fit each character--from the Galway-native parents to their London-born children-- helping listeners understand their different personalities. While the Riordans search for Robert and personal crises heat up, Lee subtly increases the emotional tension--until everything boils over, forcing the family to face their truths. C.B.L. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award (c) AudioFile 2013, Portland, Maine"