Vera Vance

Comics Star
Product Number: EB00761951
Released: Mar 17, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780823446353
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Third grader Vera Vance has signed up for the comics camp after-school program, but her mother would much rather she focus on academics, athletics, music. . . anything but comics! Vera loves all things comic books, so she can't wait for the comics after-school class to start--even though her mother wonders whether it's educational enough. But Vera is determined to participate, and starts developing her own comic about Big Spoon and Little Spoon with the encouragement of her enthusiastic friend Nixie and instruction from teachers who are accomplished cartoonists themselves. As the weels go by, the after-school teachers announce that for the final class, students will go on a field trip to a local comic-con--and they can even enter a page from their comics in a contest that will be judged there! Vera isn't surprised when her mother says she can't go. But maybe Big Spoon and Little Spoon can convince her mother to accept her passion. Vera Vance: Comics Star follows Nixie Ness: Cooking Star in the After-School Superstars chapter book series. Perfect for fans of Judy Moody, Ivy and Bean, and Clementine, it is illustrated in black and white and includes a bonus activity that corresponds to the book's plot.

x-large
Author(s): Claudia Mills
Series: After-School Superstars Series No: 2
Original Publish Date: Mar 17, 2020

Sign up for our email newsletter