They Don't Represent Us

Reclaiming Our Democracy
CD - unabridged
Audio (10 discs)
Product Number: DD46862
Released: Nov 05, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781094027944
Narrator/s: Lawrence Lessig
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A??This urgent book offers not only a clear-eyed explanation of the forces that broke our politics, but a thoughtful and, yes, patriotic vision of how we create a government thatA??s truly by and for the people.A?A??DAVID DALEY, bestselling author of Ratf**ked and Unrigged In the vein of On Tyranny and How Democracies Die, the bestselling author of Republic, Lost argues with insight and urgency that our democracy no longer represents us and shows that reform is both necessary and possible. AmericaA??s democracy is in crisis. Along many dimensions, a single flawA??unrepresentativenessA??has detached our government from the people. And as a people, our fractured partisanship and ignorance on critical issues drive our leaders to stake out ever more extreme positions. In They DonA??t Represent Us, Harvard law professor Lawrence Lessig charts the way in which the fundamental institutions of our democracy, including our media, respond to narrow interests rather than to the needs and wishes of the nationA??s citizenry. But the blame does not only lie with A??themA?A??WashingtonA??s politicians and power brokers, Lessig argues. The problem is also A??us.A? A??We the peopleA? are increasingly uninformed about the issues, while ubiquitous political polling exacerbates the problem, reflecting and normalizing our ignorance and feeding it back into the system as representative of our will. What we need, Lessig contends, is a series of reforms, from governmental institutions to the public itself, including: -A move immediately to public campaign funding, leading to more representative candidates -A reformed Electoral College, that gives the President a reason to represent America as a whole -A federal standard to end partisan gerrymandering in the states -A radically reformed Senate -A federal penalty on states that donA??t secure to their people an equal freedom to vote -Institutions that empower the people to speak in an informed and deliberative way A soul-searching and incisive examination of our failing political culture, this nonpartisan call to arms speaks to every citizen, offering a far-reaching platform for reform that could save our democracy and make it work for all of us. Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Lawrence Lessig
Narrator(s): Lawrence Lessig
Product Number Z100149139
Released: Nov 05, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: HarperAudio
ISBN: #9780062945747
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Lawrence Lessig
Product Number EB00753215
Released: Nov 05, 2019
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Dey Street Books
ISBN: #9780062945730

Sign up for our email newsletter