This Common Ground

Seasons on an Organic Farm
x-large
Author(s): Scott Chaskey
Original Publish Date: May 02, 2006
Product Number: EB00398300
Released: Jun 05, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781101118177
Publisher: Penguin Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

In the tradition of Michael Pollan, Joan Gussow, and Verlyn Klinkenborg's The Rural Life, This Common Ground is an inspirational evocation of a life lived close to the earth, written by the head farmer at one of the country's first community-supported farms. By reflecting on four seasons of activity at his beloved Quail Hill Farm in eastern Long Island, Scott Chaskey offers stirring insight into the connections between land and the human family. Whether writing about the voice of a small wren nesting in the lemon balm or a meadow of oats, millet, and peas rising to silver and green after a fresh rain, this poet-farmer's contagious sense of wonder brings us back to our bond with the soil.

Sign up for our email newsletter