Five Flavors of Dumb

x-large
Author(s): Antony John
Genre: Ya Fiction
Original Publish Date: Nov 11, 2010
Product Number: EB00390720
Released: Jun 05, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781101445303
Publisher: Speak
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Winner of the Schneider Book Award The award-winning author of the Elemental series delivers a rock-and-roll novel that Lauren Myracle called "raw, fresh, funny, and authentic." The Challenge: Eighteen-year-old Piper has one month to get her high school's coolest rock band Dumb a paying gig. The Deal: If she does it, Piper will become the band's manager and get her share of the profits. The Catch: How can Piper possibly manage a band made up of an egomaniacal pretty boy, a talentless piece of eye candy, a silent rocker, an angry girl, and a crush-worthy nerd boy? And how can she do it when she's deaf? Piper is determined to show her classmates that just because she's hearing impaired doesn't mean she's invisible. With growing self-confidence, a budding romance, and a new understanding of her parent's decision to buy a cochlear implant for her deaf baby sister, she discovers her own inner rock star and what it truly means to be a flavor of Dumb. For fans of K. L. Going's Fat Kid Rules the World and Catherine Gilbert Murdock's Dairy Queen.