Dollbaby

A Novel
Product Number: EB00384990
Released: Jul 03, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781101614716
Publisher: Penguin Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A Top Ten Finalist for Best Historical Novel, Goodreads Choice Awards, and a LibraryReads and Okra Pick A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleans-a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets When Ibby Bell's father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her father's urn for good measure. Fannie's New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been-and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum-is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannie's black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets. For Fannie's own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibby's arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbaby's hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places. For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time. By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.

x-large
Author(s): Laura Lane McNeal
Original Publish Date: Jul 03, 2014

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Laura Lane McNeal
Narrator(s): January LaVoy
Product Number Z100090483
Released: Feb 28, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Books on Tape
ISBN: #9781101975671

Sign up for our email newsletter