A Banquet of Consequences

A Lynley Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth George
Series: Inspector Lynley Series No: 19
Awards:New York Times Bestseller
Original Publish Date: Oct 27, 2015
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (21.72 hours)
Product Number: Z100087764
Released: Oct 27, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781101887813
Narrator/s: John Lee
Publisher: Books on Tape
Please log in to view pricing


"George's mystery unfolds with great psychological depth, finely drawn characters and gorgeous portraits of the English countryside...? [George] is an essential writer of popular fiction today." -The Washington Post The #1 New York Times bestselling author's award-winning series returns with another stunning crime drama featuring Scotland Yard members Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley and Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers. Look out for Elizabeth George's newest novel, The Punishment She Deserves. The unspoken secrets and buried lies of one family rise to the surface in Elizabeth George's newest novel of crime, passion, and tragic history. As Inspector Thomas Lynley investigates the London angle of an ever more darkly disturbing case, his partner, Barbara Havers, is looking behind the peaceful facade of country life to discover a twisted world of desire and deceit. The suicide of William Goldacre is devastating to those left behind who will have to deal with its unintended consequences-could there be a link between the young man's leap from a Dorset cliff and a horrific poisoning in Cambridge? After various issues with her department, Barbara Havers is desperate to redeem herself. So when a past encounter gives her a connection to the unsolved Cambridge murder, Barbara begs Thomas Lynley to let her pursue the crime, knowing one mistake could mean the end of her career. Full of shocks, intensity, and suspense from the first page to the last, A Banquet of Consequences reveals both Lynley and Havers under mounting pressure to solve a case both complicated and deeply disturbing.

All formats/editions

Author(s): Elizabeth George
Product Number EB00455043
Released: Oct 27, 2015
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Viking
ISBN: #9780698186163

Professional reviews

"John Lee's narration and portrayals of the Scotland Yard trio Thomas Lynley, Barbara Havers, and Winston Nkata perfectly exploit their diverse social status and complementary investigative techniques--from Nkata's keyboard wizardry and Havers's elbow-in-the-window style to Lynley's aristocratic, seductive charm and keen intellect. Far more challenging in this twisted psychological thriller is maintaining suspense while family secrets cloak the truth behind a suicide and a murder. Lee vividly enacts the anguish of a young man's Tourette syndrome, his brother's grief and bewilderment, and the evolving evil nature of a supposedly loving mother. Sparks of humor highlight this dark story. Lee delights in sharing Inspector Lynley's infatuation with a zoo vet whose hobby is roller derby, and Havers is lured into a makeover--with little success. D.P.D. © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine"