Anna and the Swallow Man

CD - unabridged
Audio (6 discs)
Product Number: DD22528
Released: Jan 12, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781101891810
Narrator/s: Allan Corduner
Publisher: Listening Library
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Winner of the 2017 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production A New York Times Bestseller A Booklist Editors' Choice Audio An AudioFile Best Audiobook of the Year A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year A Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year A Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book Winner of the Indies Choice Book Award Winner of the Sydney Taylor Book Award "Exquisite." -The Wall Street Journal "This is masterly storytelling." -The New York Times Book Review A stunning, beautiful, and ambitious debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of All the Light We Cannot See and The Book Thief. KrakOw, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Lania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She's alone. And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see. The Swallow Man is not Anna's father-she knows that very well-but she also knows that, like her father, he's in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness. Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man. Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit's stunning debut reveals life's hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities.

x-large
Author(s): Gavriel Savit
Awards:New York Times Bestseller

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Gavriel Savit
Narrator(s): Allan Corduner
Product Number Z100098915
Released: Jan 26, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Listening Library
ISBN: #9781101891841
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Gavriel Savit
Product Number EB00610945
Released: Jan 26, 2016
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780553522075

Professional reviews

"Allan Corduner's deep voice pairs well with the graceful, intelligent prose in this mesmerizing account of a girl whose life in Krakow, Poland, is altered forever by the encroaching horror of WWII. Seven years old when her father, a professor, is taken by the Nazis and too young to fend for herself, Anna is taken under the wing of the Swallow Man, an enigmatic stranger who teaches her "the ways of the road." Crisscrossing the countryside, hiding from Germans, Russians, and Poles, the two oddly matched yet infinitely well-suited travelers are joined for a time by a Jewish musician, whose firmly held beliefs of right and wrong set the stage for an exploration of the morality of self-preservation. Corduner's elegant, discreet voicing and measured pacing keep listeners focused on the three main characters in a wrenching coming-of-age story that will appeal to adults as well as thoughtful mature teens. S.G. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter